Agreement That Divided Non-Christian Lands Between Spain And Portugal

The Treaty of Zaragoza did not alter or specify the demarcation line of the Treaty of Tordesillas, nor confirmed Spain`s right to equal hemispheres (180 degrees each), so that the two lines divided the Earth into unequal hemispheres. Portugal`s share was about 191 degrees, while Spain was about 169 degrees. Both sections have a great ±4 degree uncertainty due to the large differences in opinions on the location of the Tordesillas line. Ferdinand and Isabella asked Pope Alexander VI to support Spain`s title in the New World. He responded by publishing papal bulls – solemn edicts – that defined a line between Spanish and Portuguese territories around the world. The route stretched from the North Pole to the South Pole. There were about 100 leagues (about 400 miles) west of an obscure archipelago known as the Cape Verde Islands, in the Atlantic Ocean, off The coast of North Africa. Antonio and Bartolomeo da Noli, Genoese sailors who sailed in Portugal, had discovered them in 1460, and since then the islands have served as an outpost in the slave trade in Portugal. A way of doing things that are passed down from generation to generation. On June 7, 1494, Pope Alexander VI divided the world in two and attributed the western part to Spain and the eastern part to Portugal. Although the island of Santo Thome of the treaty has not been identified, His “Islands of Las Velas” appear in a Spanish history of China from 1585, on the world map of Petrus Plancius of 1594, on an anonymous map of the Moluccas in the London edition of Linschoten of 1598 and on the world map of Petro Kerio of 1607, identified as a north-south chain of the island in the North Pacific. which, at that time, were also called “Islas de los Ladrones.” [38] [39] [40] His name was changed in 1667 by Spain to “Islas de las Marianas” (Mariana Islands), of which Guam is a member at the southern end. The length of Guam from 144 to 45`E is located east of the length of the Moluccas from 127 to 24`E to 17-21`, which is remarkably close to the norms of the 16th century to the 17th is of the Treaty.

This longitude passes through the eastern end of the main island of Hokkaida, in the north of the country, and through the eastern end of New Guinea, where Frédéric Durand moved the demarcation line. [41] Moriarty and Keistman set the demarcation line at 147 degrees E by putting at 16.4 degrees east of the western end of New Guinea (or 17 degrees east of 130 degrees Fahrenheit). [42] Despite the treaty`s clear assertion that the demarcation line is 17 degrees east of the Moluccas, some sources put the line east of the Moluccas. [43] [44] [45] In any case, at the time of treaty negotiation, only a very small part of the world had been explored by the Europeans, and the exact position of the border was unclear because of the difficulty of defining precisely longitude. Spain eventually claimed most of America and the easternmost regions of Asia, while Portugal claimed Brazil and most of the countries around the Indian Ocean. The Treaty of Zaragoza (1529) officially extended the demarcation line to the entire globe. Spain and Portugal confirmed the papal decrees of Inter Caetera in the treaty signed in June 1494 in the Spanish city of Tordesillas. But they moved the border between the Spanish and Portuguese areas of influence a few hundred miles further west.